Were you hurt by someone who was not paying attention, and was distracted? Unfortunately, you are not alone. More and more people are being hurt in collisions, or accidents, due to people not paying attention to where they are going. Texting and driving is an epidemic. From the State of New Jersey site, “effective July 1, 2014, the fines for talking or texting on a hand-held wireless communications device will increase. First time offenders will face a fine of at least $200. The fine associated with a second offense will increase to at least $400 and drivers who are caught a third time will face a fine of at least $600, a possible 90-day suspension of their driver’s license and will be assessed (3) three motor vehicle penalty points”. The exact law can be found through the following link: http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/About/safety_cellphone.htm.
If you have more questions about distracted driving, contact Michael J. Dennin, Esquire, at www.denninlegal.com. Mr. Dennin represent people hurt by distracted drivers in South Jersey and the Philadelphia area. He regularly handles cases in Camden County, Burlington County, and Gloucester County, as well as Philadelphia. If you are in an accident, and you believe the person was texting or was distracted, advise the police officer and ask the officer to check the phone of the other driver. I often subpoena the cell phone records of drivers who cause accidents to see if they were on the phone or texting when they cause a crash. However, there are limited time frames when we can get this information, so the earlier we are contacted the better. Mr. Dennin was recently named Top Trial Attorney by his peers in SJ Magazine for the second year in a row. He will protect your rights and obtain compensation for you and help you get the proper medical care you deserve.
If a person causes an crash while texting, he may also be criminally responsible. A recent law, as cited on the State of New Jersey Website, known as the “Kulesh, Kubert and Bolis’ Law,” the measure is named after New Jersey residents who were killed or severely injured in a crash caused by someone using a handheld cell phone while driving.
Under the new law, proof that a defendant was operating a hand-held wireless telephone while driving a motor vehicle may give rise to the presumption that the defendant was engaged in reckless driving. Prosecutors are empowered to charge the offender with committing vehicular homicide or assault when such type of accident occurs from reckless driving. Vehicular homicide is generally a crime of the second degree, punishable by imprisonment of five to ten years, a fine of up to $150,000, or both. Assault by auto is a crime of the fourth degree if serious bodily injury occurs and a disorderly persons offense if bodily injury occurs. A fourth degree crime is punishable by up to 18 months imprisonment, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. The penalty for a disorderly persons offense is imprisonment for up to six months, a fine of up to $1,000, or both.
Please protect yourself if you get hurt by a distracted driver. Feel free to contact an experience personal injury attorney, Michael J. Dennin, Esquire, at www.denninlegal.com, to freely discuss your rights. Mr. Dennin and the Law Offices of Vincent J. Ciecka, P.C. will fight for you and against the insurance companies to get you what you deserve and to hold the person who hit you responsible.